What Makes Number 7 So Special?

7 wonders, 7 heavens, 7 oceans, 7 continents, 7 layers of skin, the rainbow has 7 colours, there are 7 holes in your head, the earth was created in 7 days according to the Abrahamic religions, the male body has 7 parts, 7 vertebrae in the nick, 7 days in the week, 7 wonders of the ancient world, even notes on a musical scale, 7 seas and much much more.

Have you ever wondered? did the question ever come across your mind? Strange right?!

We do not have a specific answer to all this but in this short article, we will just put a list of 7 points where number 7 were used.

1. Religions

In religious or mythological cosmology, the seven heavens refer to seven levels or divisions of Heaven. The concept, derived from ancient Mesopotamian religions, can be found in the Abrahamic religions such as Islam, Judaism and Christianity, a similar concept is also found in some Indian religions such as Hinduism.

According to the Talmud in Judaism, the universe is made of seven heavens. The Koran often speakwhy numer 7 is so special s of seven heavens and Muslims on a pilgrimage to Mecca walk seven times around the Kaaba, the cuboid building at the centre of Islam’s most sacred mosque. In Christianity, Judaism and Islam, God resides above the seventh heaven and one of the most important elements in Jewish weddings is the conferring of the seven blessings. And in modern Jewish wedding ceremonies, the bride often circles the groom seven times. In Hinduism, there are seven higher worlds and seven underworlds. In the ancient Vedic form of the religion, the sun god’s chariot is pulled by seven horses and the human body has seven basic chakras or “wheels of energy”. Japanese mythology has seven gods of fortune responsible for good health, long life, happiness, knowledge, wealth, warriors and fishermen. In Buddhism, the newborn Buddha rose to his feet and took seven steps.

2. Ancient World number 7 why so special

The ancient world had seven wonders: the Great Pyramid of Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus (now in Turkey) the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and finally the Lighthouse of Alexandria.



3. The Seven Wonders of the Modern World

The Seven Wonders of the Modern World are the Great Wall of China, the Taj Mahal in India, the rock city of Petra in Jordan, the statue of Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, Machu Picchu in Peru, the Chichen Itza pyramid in Mexico and the Colosseum in Rome. The list was chosen by global ballot and the results were announced on the seventh day of the seventh month (July 7) in 2007.

4. Fiction

The number seven has been very lucky for JK Rowling. Her sixth Harry Potter book, Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince sold seven million copies the day it was published in America. The seventh and final book in the series Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows was published in July (the seventh month) 2007.

5. Earth (The Seven Summits)number 7

The Seven Summits are the highest mountains of each of the seven continents. The seven continents are Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. and the highest summits names are Asia: Mount Everest, South America: Aconcagua, North America: Denali AKA Mount McKinley, Africa: Kilimanjaro, Europe: Mount Elbrus,  Antarctica: Mount Vinson, Australasia/Oceania: Carstensz Pyramid.

6. Time for Humans

The optimum number of hours of sleep for humans is seven. A study by the West Virginia Medical School in the US of more than 30,000 adults found that the risk of developing heart disease increased in those who sleep one hour more or less than seven. Those who sleep for fewer than five hours a day are twice as likely to have heart attacks, strokes or angina attacks and the risk also increased markedly in those who clock up nine hours or more.

7. Demonology (Seven Princes of Hells)

The Lanterne of Light’s classification of demons:

In 1409-1410 The Lanterne of Light (an anonymous English Lollard tract often attributed to John Wycliffe). Provided a classification system based on the Seven Deadly Sins, establishing that each one of the mentioned demons tempted people by means of one of those sins.

  1. Lucifer: Pride

  2. Beelzebub: Envy (envious)

  3. Satan (Sathanas): Wrath (wraþþe)

  4. Abaddon: Sloth (slowȝ)

  5. Mammon: Greed (auarouse)

  6. Belphegor: Gluttony (glotouns)

  7. Asmodeus: Lust (leccherouse)


We will always keep wondering what is so special about this number 7. For some, it’s a lucky number and for some, it’s just a number. I don’t think this number just happened to be special by coincidence. No one knows yet! however, one fact is known: number 7 is indeed a special number.